#FlashMobWrites 1×03 Winners

Wow! You guys turned up the heat on us this week. Loved seeing the blend of our beloved regulars (is it too soon to call you that?!) and fresh faces weighing in. And you churned out some seriously kickass stories this round. Thank you!

The Writers In Order Of Appearance:

  • @TwiAddictAnne
  • @SiobhanMuir
  • @SilverJames_
  • @genreaspired
  • @etcet
  • @WakefieldMahon
  • @Aightball
  • @solimond
  • @grady_rexford
  • @zombiemechanics
  • @Lizzie_Koch
  • @RoryBrazen
  • @callthewriter

 

The Results

flashmob-soldier3

Soldiers (Honorable Mentions)

Silver James | @SilverJames_

Cara says: This tale of “everything that can go wrong, will go wrong” broke my heart. Poor Easy.

Ruth says: Oh, this one tugged at my heart. He was so close to achieving his heart’s desire until a simple twist of fate took it all away.

J Patrick Allen | @genreaspired

Cara says: What starts out as “just” a pair of horny teenagers rapidly takes a dark and twisted turn.

Ruth says: I loved the way this story unraveled. From ‘teens in heat’ to ‘secrets of seriously epic creepiness.’ Great storytelling!

flashmob-underboss3

Underboss (2nd place) | Alicia VanNoy Call | @callthewriter

Cara says: My son and I have been watching the 100, and this story brought to mind the insane, terrible decisions that have to be made to “preserve” humanity. Heartbreaking.

Ruth says: Man, this one crushed me. I couldn’t read fast enough even though I had a sinking feeling what was going to happen. That so much subtext and social commentary could be conveyed in less than five hundred words is insanely magical. And yeah, utterly heartbreaking.

flashmob-boss3

Boss (1st place) | J. Whitworth Hazzard | @zombiemechanics

Cara says: This story takes the creep factor to 11, bringing a serial killer to life in a short span of words. I would love to see this expanded… with an equally clever lady detective opponent, of course.

Ruth says: Whoa! This is the kind of piece that would keep me turning pages until The End and then thinking about it for weeks afterwards and talking about it until I no longer had breath or memory. Totally my wheelhouse. Tight, terse, and a total kick in the teeth. All I can say is, “I WANT MORE!”

 

3 thoughts on “#FlashMobWrites 1×03 Winners

Leave a Reply

