Midweek Musings 1×12

Welcome back to Midweek Musing, our free-write session. I stopped for my morning coffee on the way to work yesterday, and this tune captured my attention. I almost got my phone out and the song Shazam’d before it ended, but the DJ did me a solid and relayed the artist and title.

Guidelines follow the video and lyrics below.

Cam – “Burning House”

I had a dream about a burning house
You were stuck inside
I couldn’t get you out
I laid beside you and pulled you close
And the two of us went up in smoke

Love isn’t all that it seems I did you wrong
I’ll stay here with you until this dream is gone

I’ve been sleepwalking
Been wandering all night
Trying to take what’s lost and broken
Make it right
I’ve been sleepwalking
Too close to the fire
But it’s the only place that I can hold you tight
In this burning house

See you at a party and you look the same
I could take you back
But people don’t ever change
Wish that we could go back in time
I’d be the one you thought you’d find

I’ve been sleepwalking
Been wandering all night
Trying to take what’s lost and broken
Make it right
I’ve been sleepwalking
Too close to the fire
But it’s the only place that I can hold you tight
In this burning house

The flames are getting bigger now
In this burning house
I can hold on to you somehow
In this burning house
Oh when I don’t want to wake up
In this burning house

I’ve been sleepwalking
Been wandering all night
Trying to take what’s lost and broken
Make it right
I’ve been sleepwalking
Too close to the fire
But it’s the only place that I can hold you tight
In this burning house


 The Guidelines:

  • This is a non-judged free write session.
  • Use the prompt anyway you’d like.
  • Post anytime between now and next Wednesday (1200 EDT).
  • Keep it under 1,000 words.
  • Leave encouraging comments for other participants.
  • Most of all, have FUN!
2 thoughts on “Midweek Musings 1×12

  1. The world is so dark. It’s not still, and it’s far from silent. But it’s dark in a way I’ve never seen it. The winds are still high, but Spark and Shadow don’t seem to mind. Maybe they know the worst is over. Maybe this is just a calm that lures us into letting down our guard.

    “You okay over there?”

    Gavin’s voice reaches through the darkness, warm and inviting. His is the kind of voice I want to snuggle into, to hear it rumbling in his chest before it rolls over me with implicit promises of safety. Comfort. Wow, am I a fucking sap. Two days in his company and he’s dug into me worse than a goddamned tick.

    “I’m getting by.”

    “Are your folks still together?”

    The odd question hits me in the gut like a fist. Did they know what had happened? Were they watching the news even now, wondering if I was alive?

    “Where’d that come from?”

    “I’m getting to know my disaster buddy,” he says. “C’mon. We’ve been neighbors for months. Tell me about you. About the people who made Elf Huron a hard drinking, hard riding, survival badass.”

    “You’re ridiculous.” But he’s eased the unintended sting of his question. “Yeah, they’re together. That’s what they call it, at least,” I say. “They’re more like roommates. They know each other, sleep under the same roof. Occasionally share a cup of coffee over the morning paper.”

    “They get a paper? That’s still a thing?”

    “Digitally. On their respective tablets.”

    “Ah.”

    “What about you? Did you have the white picket fence youth?”

    “Nah. My parents called it quits when I was pretty young still.” I hear him scoot along the ground, then the heat of him surrounds me. He draws me between his legs, my back to his chest. I should object maybe. But there’s this sensation—peace, maybe, or contentment? I don’t know it well enough to name it, but it’s nice. “A lot of my friends were in the same boat. Some saw their folks end it later. I still wonder if it would have been better or worse if mine had tried to stick it out.”

    “Flash fire or slow burn. Either way, the house they built is burning down.”

    “You resent your parents for staying together.” It isn’t a question, but I have an answer anyway.

    “I don’t agree with it, but that’s their choice. They’re a product of their culture and beliefs.”

    “You’re a product of those as well.”

    “Do you see me walking down the aisle or flashing a ring?” I shook my head.

    “Ever?”

    I don’t want to examine his reason for asking that. I also don’t want him to think I’m some anti-love hardass. I relax into the shelter of his body with a sigh.

    “Maybe someday.”

    “Someday works.” The rumble of his voice is just as soothing as I’d imagined. He brushes my hair back from my face. His fingers pause on my cheek, then his lips replace them. The soft brush of his mouth sends a shockwave through my system. I know he hears my quick inhalation, but he doesn’t call me out. He wraps me in his arms and says, “Sleep a bit, my lady Elf. I’ll keep guard.”

    “You can’t guard my dreams.”

    “Have faith,” he whispers. “I’m prepared to slay dragons of any form.”

    @caramichaels
    560 WIP words

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

